Minnesota Permit to Carry and Basic Pistol Class

Since 2013, we’ve been training people in Minnesota to receive their concealed permit to carry certificationThe Permit to Carry and Basic Pistol class is taught by a full-time law enforcement officer with 25 years of service in the Crow Wing County area. In class, students are introduced to the knowledge and skills necessary for owning and using a pistol safely and lawfully. Public, private, and one-on-one classes are available.

We also have a Florida Concealed Carry Permit Class add-on. Select this add-on when registering.

Pricing For Classes

Z

Minnesota Permit to Carry and Basic Pistol Class

$85

Use of firearm, ammunition, and safety equipment is included in the price of the class. An additional discounted range fee of $15 will be collected at the time of class.

Florida Concealed Carry Permit Class Add-On

$20

Select this add-on at registration.
FYI: This Florida permit includes Florida and 6 more states.

What’s Covered in the Minnesota Gun Safety Class

Based on the Minnesota Personal Protection Act Standards, students will learn about the following in this firearms training class:

Pistol parts and operation

Ammunition

 

Gun safety

 

Pistol shooting fundamentals

Pistol shooting activities

Owner responsibilities

Laws regarding safe pistol operation

 

Minnesota laws regarding personal protection and self-defense

Private One-On-One and Group Classes Available

Private classes, groups, and one-on-one instruction are available. Popular for family & friends, co-workers. There is a discount for private classes. Location for class and shooting range to be provided by the group.

Next Steps After Completing Your Class

k

After completing your class, you will receive a completion certificate. The next step you need to take is to apply for the Permit To Carry permit. You do this by bringing your certificate to the Sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. There will be a permit fee. Contact your county Sheriff’s office for pricing.
Note: You must be 21 to apply for a permit at the Sheriff’s office.

13 Rules of Firearm Safety

=

Always treat the gun as if it were loaded.

=

Always keep your finger straight and off the trigger until you are ready to shoot.

=

Always keep the gun unloaded until you are ready to use it.

=

Be sure of your target and what is beyond it.

=

Always use proper ammunition.

=

If your gun fails to fire when the trigger is pulled, hold you shooting position for several seconds; then with the muzzle pointed in a safe direction, carefully unload the gun.

=

Be aware of your surroundings when handling guns so you don’t trip or lose your balance and accidentally point and/or fire the gun at anyone or anything.

=

Always wear eye and ear protection.

=

Always keep the gun pointed in a safe direction.

=

Never point the gun at anything you don’t intend to destroy.

=

Learn the mechanical and handling characteristics of the gun you are using.

=

Be sure the barrel is clear of obstructions before loading and shooting.

=

Do not rely on the gun’s safety to keep it from firing.